U.S. Intellectual History Blog

2014 S-USIH Annual Book Award

Below is information regarding the 2014 S-USIH Book Award.  You can also access the announcement as a PDF.

Please contact your press to have it submit your book for the award.

The Society for U. S. Intellectual History Annual Book Award

The Society for U. S. Intellectual History announces its Annual Book Award for the

best book in American intellectual history. The book should be a work of original

scholarship. Books eligible for the 2014 award must be published in English in the

period between Jan. 1, 2013, and Dec. 31, 2013. Any member of the Society or

publisher may nominate books for the award. The winner and finalists will be

announced in Summer 2014, receive a $250.00 prize, and participate in a panel on

the winning book at the 2014 annual meeting of the Society, scheduled for October

9-12 in Indianapolis. The winning author must be a member of the Society.

2014 Award Committee:

Leslie Butler (Dartmouth)

Margaret Abruzzo (University of Alabama)

Kevin M. Schultz (University of Illinois at Chicago)

A copy of the nominated book must be sent to each of the following committee

members no later than Feb. 1, 2014. A separate letter listing each entry should be

sent to the committee members so that they can verify arrival of all entries.

Leslie Butler

History Department/6107

Dartmouth College

Hanover, NH 03755

Kevin M. Schultz 

2905 Telemark Drive

Park City, UT 84060

Margaret Abruzzo

P.O. Box 486

Millbrook, NY 12545-0486 (for USPS)


42 Maple Avenue

Millbrook, NY 12545-0486 (for non-USPS)

For further information and inquiries contact:

Daniel Wickberg

President, Society for U.S. Intellectual History

Email: [email protected]