U.S. Intellectual History Blog

Seventh Annual S-USiH Conference

The committee for the 2015 Conference of the Society for U.S. Intellectual History–Andrew Hartman (Illinois State University), Michael Kimmage (Catholic University), Claire Rydell (Stanford University), and Jonathan Wilson (Syracuse University)—is pleased to announce that the seventh annual S-USIH Conference will be held October 15-18, 2015 at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown Washington, DC. The theme for the 2015 conference is “Problems and Their Publics.” We will issue a Call for Papers by January 2015.

The 2015 S-USIH keynote speaker will be Corey Robin, a professor of political science at Brooklyn College and the CUNY Graduate Center. Robin is the author of Fear: The History of a Political Idea, and The Reactionary Mind: Conservatism from Edmund Burke to Sarah Palin. He is also a prolific and award-winning blogger at coreyrobin.com.

The 2015 conference will feature three exciting plenary sessions. Kicking the conference off on Thursday night is a plenary on the topic of “Little Magazines: Past, Present, Future” that will be moderated by S-USIH member Sarah Leonard, who is senior editor at The Nation. Joining Leonard will be Jackson Lears (Raritan), Dan McCarthy (The American Conservative), Rachel Rosenfelt (The New Inquiry), Chloe Schama, (The New Republic), and Bhaskar Sunkara (Jacobin).

The Friday night plenary session will be on the topic of “Public Intellectuals since Russell Jacoby’s The Last Intellectuals.” In addition to Russell Jacoby (University of California-Los Angeles), this panel will include Tim Goeglein (Focus on the Family), Jonathan Holloway (Yale University), Claire Potter, (The New School), and Leo Ribuffo (George Washington University).

The final plenary session, which will take place on Saturday night, will be on the topic of “Museums, Archives, and the Idea of the National.” This plenary features Taína Caragol (Curator for Latino Art and History, National Portrait Gallery), David Ferriero (Archivist of the United States), Eleanor Jones Harvey (Senior Curator, Smithsonian American Art Museum), and Robert C. Post (Curator Emeritus, National Museum of American History).

Additional items of note:

1) The conference will feature a roundtable on the S-USIH Book Award that will include the winning author as well as the members of the 2014 Award Committee: Howard Brick, Robert Westbrook, and Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen.

2) Our friends at the African American Intellectual History Society (AAIHS) and at The Junto: A Group Blog on Early American History will each sponsor two sessions.

Mark your calendars. We look forward to seeing you all in DC!

One Thought on this Post

Comments are closed.